Ames Moot Court Competition 2019

before post

The case, United States Department of Interior v. Bryce Caldwell, was argued on Nov. 12, at the Ames Moot Court Competition. The presiding judges were Merrick Garland ’77, of the United States Court of Appeals District of Columbia Circuit; Michelle Friedland of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, and Amul Thapar, of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

Patricia Roberts Harris Memorial Team (Respondents):
Charlotte Butash
Kelsey Fraser (oralist)
Hilary Hurd
Melanie Fontes (oralist)
Kate Peiffer
Alicia Alvero Koski

Janet Wood Reno Memorial Team (Petitioners):
Kevin Chen
Mikaela Gilbert-Lurie (oralist)
Caroline Li
Al Kelly (oralist)
KC Jaski
Eliza Green

The Ames Competition, held in the historic Ames Courtroom of Harvard Law School, is one of the most prestigious competitions for appellate brief writing and advocacy in the country. The students participating in the Final Round started the competition in fall of their 2L year. Two teams progressed to the Final Round through their strong research abilities and excellent written and oral advocacy.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.